Peggy Lee Band

The Peggy Lee Band

Cellist Peggy Lee resides in Vancouver where she performs in a range of ensembles including the Vancouver Opera Orchestra , the string quartet Microcosmos, and the new music ensemble Standing Wave . As an improvisor, she has ongoing collaborations with Tony Wilson, Ron Samworth, Robin Holcomb, Wayne Horvitz , Dylan van der Schyff and Dave Douglas. She has also recently formed a group with Mary Margaret O’Hara called Beautiful Tool.

The Peggy Lee Band was formed in 1998 as a vehicle to explore different strategies for improvisation within the context of Peggy’s compositions. Although initially formed as a sextet, Peggy decided to expand the group in 2007 by adding tenor saxophone and another electric guitar. This is a group in which the unique contribution of each player is crucial to the ensemble’s overall sound. The sextet has released three cd’s on the Spool label and has toured nationally and internationally. New Code, released in 2008 on Drip Audio, was the first album as an octet. The new recording, Invitation, also on Drip Audio, was released in October 2012, and is nominated for a 2014 JUNO.

The Peggy Lee Band is: Peggy Lee, cello; Brad Turner, trumpet; Jon Bentley, saxophone; Jeremy Berkman, trombone; Ron Samworth, guitar; Tony Wilson, guitar; André Lachance, bass; Dylan van der Schyff, drums

Produced by Peggy Lee and Dylan van der Schyff
Recorded by Eric Mosher at the Warehouse, Vancouver B.C.
Mixed,edited and mastered by Dylan van der Schyff at Zio Uovo
Cover photo by Stephen Scott Patterson
Designed by Leisure Thief
PeggyLee2012Jun_photo by Victoria_Johnson